Spread the love

On March 21, a resolution was passed affirming that the chief minister and governor of Tamil Nadu both agree with the High Court Collegium’s recommendation made on August 10, 2022, to appoint four judicial officers as judges of the Madras High Court.

Chief Justice DY Chandrachud-led Supreme Court Collegium has put forth the names of four district judges, namely R Sakthivel, P Dhanabal, Chinnasamy Kumarappan, and K Rajasekar, for appointment as judges of the Madras High Court. The collegium also includes Justices Sanjay Kishan Kaul and KM Joseph.

The file was received from the Department of Justice on January 5, 2023, it said.

“In order to ascertain the fitness and suitability of the above-named judicial officers for elevation to the High Court, in terms of the Memorandum of Procedure, this Collegium has consulted the Judges of the Supreme Court conversant with the affairs of the Madras High Court,” the resolution added.

The Collegium, in its resolution, highlighted that it had earlier recommended the appointment of advocate Ramaswamy Neelakandan on January 17, and reasserted the appointment of R John Sathyan to the Madras High Court. However, the government has not yet approved these appointments, according to the Collegium.

Witten by Rishav raj bb all.b 4th semester ( RNB GLOBAL UNIVERSITY)


Leave a Reply

Avatar placeholder

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *